Egypt's Salah shortlisted for FIFA 'The Best' Player of the Year Award

Ahram Online , Monday 22 Nov 2021

Egypt and Liverpool winger Mohamed Salah has been named among the shortlist for the FIFA Best Player of the Year Award 2021 in a list published by the World governing body on Monday.

Liverpool s Mohamed Salah celebrates after scoring his side s third goal during the English Premier League soccer match between Liverpool and Arsenal at Anfield Stadium, Liverpool, England, Saturday, Nov. 20, 2021. AP

Two committees of experts – one for men and another for women – have chosen the nominees for each award, and the voting will be open for fans on FIFA’s website in December.

Salah will be competing with the likes of Kylian Mbappe, Robert Lewandowski, Neymar and the usual suspects Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

The 29-year-old Egyptian winger has been in stunning form this season, scoring 16 goals in 16 games in all competitions, including 11 Premier League goals to lead the scorers' chart so far.

The fans' vote will be open until 10 December.

FIFA will announce a three-man shortlist early in January and the winners will be announced on 17 January in an online ceremony.

The nominees for all the awards are:

The Best FIFA Women's Player

Stina Blackstenius (Sweden / BK Hacken)

Aitana Bonmati (Spain / Barcelona)

Lucy Bronze (England / Manchester City WFC)

Magdalena Eriksson (Sweden / Chelsea FC Women)

Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway / Barcelona)

Pernille Harder (Denmark / Chelsea FC Women)

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / Barcelona)

Ji So-yun (Korea Republic / Chelsea FC Women)

Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC Women)

Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal WFC)

Ellen White (England / Manchester City WFC)

Alexia Putellas (Spain / Barcelona)

Christine Sinclair (Canada / Portland Thorns)


The Best FIFA Men's Player

Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool)

Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid)

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus / Manchester United)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich)

Lionel Messi (Argentina / Barcelona / Paris Saint-Germain)

Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)

Erling Haaland (Norway / Borussia Dortmund)

Jorginho (Italy / Chelsea)

N'Golo Kante (France / Chelsea)

Kylian Mbappe (France / Paris Saint-Germain)


The Best FIFA Women's Coach

Lluis Cortes (Spain / Barcelona)

Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden / Swedish national team)

Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC Women)

Beverly Priestman (England / Canadian national team)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / Dutch national team / English national team)


The Best FIFA Men's Coach

Antonio Conte (Italy / Inter / Tottenham Hotspur)

Hansi Flick (Germany / Bayern Munich / German national team)

Pep Guardiola (Spain / Manchester City)

Roberto Mancini (Italy / Italian national team)

Lionel Sebastian Scaloni (Argentina / Argentinian national team)

Diego Simeone (Argentina / Atletico Madrid)

Thomas Tuchel (Germany / Chelsea)


The Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper

Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany / Chelsea FC Women)

Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain / Olympique Lyonnais)

Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbe (Canada / Rosengard / Paris Saint-Germain)

Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden / Atletico Madrid Femenino)

Alyssa Naeher (USA / Chicago Red Stars)

Short link: