FIFA to reveal three-man shortlist for Best award on Friday

Ahram Online , Tuesday 4 Jan 2022

FIFA said it will unveil on Friday its three finalists for its Best Player of the Year award, which Egypt's Mohamed Salah is contesting with 10 other nominees including Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski and Paris Saint-Germain forward Lionel Messi.

Mohamed Salah
File photo of Liverpool star Mohamed Salah (AFP)

"On Friday, 7 January, FIFA will unveil the three finalists for The Best FIFA Women's Player and The Best FIFA Men's Player during an online event featuring the FIFA Legends Kristine Lilly and Sami Khedira," the world governing body said.

Liverpool star Salah was included in an 11-man shortlist for the prestigious award last month, which also includes the likes of Manchester United's forward Cristiano Ronaldo and Paris Saint-Germain forward Kylian Mbappe.

The winners will be revealed in an online ceremony on 17 January.

Salah, who has recently joined up with Egypt for their African Cup of Nations campaign in Cameroon, finished third behind winner Luka Modric and Ronaldo in FIFA's Best award for 2018.

FIFA also announced the finalists for its Puskas Award for the best goal of the year. The voting process for the 11 goals in the race ended on Friday.

Final nominees:

Erik Lamela (Argentina) – Arsenal FC v. Tottenham Hotspur FC [Premier League] (14 March, 2021)

Patrik Schick (Czech Republic) – Czech Republic v. Scotland [UEFA EURO 2020] (14 June, 2021)

Mehdi Taremi (Iran) – Chelsea FC v. FC Porto [UEFA Champions League] (13 April, 2021)

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Search Keywords:
Short link: