Last Update 16:26
Wednesday, 04 August 2021

Five CAF Champions League finals facts

AFP, Saturday 25 Oct 2014

Five CAF Champions League finals facts ahead of first leg of 2014 decider between V Club of the Democratic Republic of Congo and Entente Setif of Algeria in Kinshasa Sunday:

- The first final in 1964 was the only one staged at a neutral venue with Cameroonians Oryx Douala defeating Malians Stade Malien 2-1 in Ghanaian capital Accra

- Every other final has been over two legs except for 1971 when it stretched to three games with Cameroonians Canon Yaounde winning a play-off 1-0 at home against Ghanaians Asante Kotoko

- The most goals in a final was 11 in 1972 with Guineans Hafia winning 4-2 at home against Ugandans Simba and 3-2 away

- Penalty shootouts have decided 10 finals and Congolese TP Mazembe won the 2009 decider against Nigerians Heartland in the only one settled by the away-goal rule

- Egyptians Al-Ahly have won the competition a record eight times with Cairo neighbours Zamalek second best with five titles and Mazembe third with four triumphs

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.