CAF releases Player of the Year shortlist ahead of GIo-CAF awards

Mahmoud Elassal , Thursday 25 Dec 2014

CAF unveils 3-man shortlist for most prestigious individual prize on the continent, including title holder Yaya Toure

Yaya Toure, Aubameyang and Enyeama
Yaya Toure, Aubameyang and Enyeama

Ivory Coast and Manchester City forward Yaya Toure, Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama and Gabon midfielder Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang have been shortlisted as 2014 African Player of the Year award nominees.

"The trio made the cut following votes from head coaches or technical directors of the National Associations affiliated with CAF. Ghana’s Asamoah Gyan and Ahmed Musa of Nigeria failed to make the final list," read a statement on the CAF official website on Thursday.

Algerian duo Akram Djahnit and El Hedi Belamieri, who play for ES Setif, along with DR Congo's Firmin Mubele Ndombe who plays for AS Vita Club are also competing for the African Player of the Year award based in Africa.

The 2014 Glo-CAF awards will be held 8 January at a ceremony in Nigeria's Lagos to honour Africa's best players and officials for their achievements during 2014.

The ceremony will award African Player of The Year, National Team of the Year, Club of the Year, Referee of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Algeria is in contention with Libya and Nigeria for the National Team of the Year award that will be revealed during the ceremony.

Lagos, capital of Africa's most populous nation, hosted the Glo-CAF events two times before, in 2008 and 2013.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: