CAF unveil new qualifiers format for the 2014 World Cup

Mohamed Mosselhi, Monday 16 May 2011

African qualifying rounds from the next World Cup tournament will be influenced by FIFA rankings

Ghana made Africa proud in the World Cup 2010

The executive committee of CAF decided on Monday to adopt a new format for its World Cup qualifying rounds, effective from the 2014 tournament.

According to the new format, the qualifiers will start with a preliminary round involving the lowest 24 African countries, according to FIFA's rankings.

The winning 12 teams will join the remaining 28 African countries in 10 groups.

The group winners will be paired in five ties with the five winners booking their ticket to Brazil.


Search Keywords:
Short link: