Last Update 19:31
Sunday, 19 September 2021

Enyeama dropped from Nigeria ahead of Guinea decider

Coach Samson Siasia has omitted keeper Vincent Enyeama from the 20-man list to face Guinea in an African Cup of Nations qualifying match

Karim Farouk, Tuesday 20 Sep 2011
Nigeria keeper Vincent Enyeama

Following an outburst directed at the coach, Nigeria first-choice keeper Vincent Enyeama has been dropped from Samson Siasia’s squad, which will take on Guinea in a crucial African Cup of Nations qualifier next month.

The Super Eagles shot-stopper, along with John Mikel Obi and Victor Anichebe, had rowed with the coach over the team's mode of travel to Madagascar. They demanded that the Super Eagles fly on a bigger aircraft directly to Antananarivo, rather than on a chartered flight with a stop in Congo Brazzaville.

They were all dropped from the Argentina friendly and have been excluded since then from the national squad.

Enyeama apologised earlier this month to his coach and the Nigerian fans, but voices in Nigeria kept asking for him to be left the shadow, seeing that he had been relegated to the bench with his French team Lille.

Siasia named three potential keepers - Dele Aiyenugba, Austin Ejide and Chigozie Agbim - but Aiyenugba, who has produced an excellent performance recently, is expected to stand between the sticks.

Nigeria must beat Guinea with a two-goal difference to secure the lead in the group and a direct spot in next year’s contest.

Siasia has also included five new faces which will join the squad ahead of Ghana’s friendly in 11 October: Ugo Ukah, Gege Soriola, Emmanuel Ekpo, Nosa Igiebor and Nnamdi Oduamadi.

The Nigeria squad for the Guinea game is as follows:

Dele Aiyenugba, Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim

Joseph Yobo, Taye Taiwo, Dele Adeleye, Elderson Echiejile, Chibuzor Okonkwo

John Mikel Obi, Obinna Nsofor, Joel Obi, Fengor Ogude, Uche Kalu, Ahmed Musa

Peter Utaka, Ikechukwu Uche, Peter Odemwingie, Chinedu Obasi, Brown Ideye, Ekigho Ehiosun, Emmanuel Emenike

To join for Ghana game: Gege Soriola, Emmanuel Ekpo, Nosa Igiebor, Nnamdi Oduamadi and Ugo Ukah

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.