Five-star DR Congo hammer Swaziland in WCup qualifier

Karim Farouk, Tuesday 15 Nov 2011

DR Congo, Congo, Namibia, Mozambique, Togo, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania and Kenya advance in World Cup qualifiers, African zone

DR Congo striker Tresor Mputu

DR Congo thrashed minnows Swaziland 5-1 on Tuesday in Kinshasha to advance to the group stage of the World Cup 2014 qualifiers.

The Leopards had already sealed a comfortable  3-1 away lead last week but wanted to send a message to their future opponents; Cameroon, Libya and the winner between Guiean Bissau and Togo.

Star striker Tresor Mputu – who is back in these qualifiers after serving a year-ban – hit a brace 7 and 49, the 2010 FIFA Club World Cup Alain Dioko Kaluyituka – who know plays for Qatari side Al-Ahly – scored another double on 46 and 61 minutes and Ilunga Diba completed the rout in the 66th minute. Veteran striker Sidumo Shongwe scored the visitors’ consolation goal in the 63rd minute.

Earlier in the day Rwanda defeated Eritrea 3-1 (4-2 on agg.) and Kenya routed Seyechelles 4-0 (7-0 on agg.) to advance to the group stage.

Congo were held by Sao Tome at home but reached the next round after their 5-0 away win last week.

Equatorial Guinea, Lesotho and Tanzania lost but all have advanced after their first leg wins.

Liberia have already secured a spot in the group stage even before these preliminary qualifiers after the withdrawal of Mauritius.



Congo - Sao Tome 1-1 (5-0)
DR Congo – Swaziland 5-1 (3-1)
Rwanda – Eritrea 3-1 (1-1)
Madagascar – Equatorial Guinea 2-1 (0-2)
Burundi – Lesotho 2-1 (0-1)
Tanzania – Chad 0-1 (2-1)
Kenya – Seychelles 4-0 (3-0)
Togo – Guinea Bissau 1-0 (1-1)
Mozambique – Comoros 4-1 (1-0)
Namibia – Djibouti 4-0 (4-0)

To be played on Wednesday

Somalia – Ethiopia (0-0)

Short link: