Ayew, Keita and Toure finalists for CAF 2011 award

Ahmed Abd El Rasoul , Wednesday 21 Dec 2011

CAF reveals the final three nominees for the 2011 African player of the year

Toure, Keita and Ayew
Toure, Keita and Ayew

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced on Wednesday the final list of nominees for the 2011 African player of the year.

The three players competing for the title in the final short list are: Ghanaian midfielder Andre Ayew, Malian midfielder Seidou Keita and Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure.

Senegal’s Moussa Sow and Cameroon legend Samuel Eto’o were eliminated after being named in the initial shortlist announced early December.

According to CAF’s official website, the winner will be voted for by the head coaches or technical directors of national associations affiliated to CAF.

The awards gala will be held on Thursday, December 22 in the Ghanain capital of Accra.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online sports on Twitter: @AO_Sports)

Short link: