Last Update 20:41
Saturday, 24 July 2021

Africa representatives in Club World Cup 2021 will be the first three teams in the Champions League: CAF

Ahram Online , Thursday 21 Nov 2019

The Confederation of African football (CAF) executive committee said on Thursday that the first three teams in the Champions League 2021 will represent the continent in the 2021 FIFA Club World Cup.

China will host the first edition of the new, expanded 24-team Club World Cup in 2021.

The CAF executive committee approved during its meeting held in Cairo on Thursday the termination of the contract between the CAF and French Lagardère Group concerning the  marketing rights of the continent's competitions.

The African Football governing body decided, earlier this month, to cancel a $1bn rights deal with the French Group which was signed in 2015.

Meanwhile the executive committee approved three new awards for the African Interclubs Player of the Year, the best African Club President and a special recognition award for contributions to society as well as new formats for youth and women’s competitions based on 12 teams instead of eight 

The CAF confirmed also that the African Super Cup between Esperance de Tunis and Egyptian side Zamalek  will take place in Qatar in the 14 th of February.
(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)
Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.