Egypt, Salah shortlisted in CAF 2022 Awards, five Ahly players march on

Mahmoud Elassal , Monday 11 Jul 2022

Egyptian Liverpool winger Mohamed Salah, alongside five Ahly players, has been included in the Confederation of African Football (CAF) star-studded final shortlist for the CAF Awards 2022 released by CAF on Monday.

Egyptian national team captain Mohamed salah , Reuters

Egypt is also included on the nominee shortlist for the National Team of the Year award.

Ahly, the CAF Champions League finalist, is also included in the Club of the Year award list alongside the continental tournament’s winner Athletic Club of Morocco.

The Red Devils’ former coach Pitso Mosimane of South Africa and Egypt’s former coach Carlos Queiroz of Argentina also shortlisted for the coach of the year title.

“The list includes reigning CAF African Player of the Year Sadio Mane (Senegal and Bayern Munich), former winner Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Manchester City), Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool), amongst others,” reads a statement on the CAF’s official website.

The 30-year-old Salah was named the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Player of the Year to become only the seventh man to win the award more than once after a season in which he scored 23 goals in the Premier League.

Five Ahly players, Mohamed El Shenawy, Aliou Dieng, Ali Maaloul, Percy Tau and Mohamed Sherif, marched on in the nominee list to compete for the award.  

The CAF released on Monday the shortlist of nominees for the 2022 awards, which will be held for the first time in three years on 21 July in Rabat, Morocco

The CAF revealed the nominees for the Men’s categories, namely Player of the Year, Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year and Club of the Year.

“The winners of each category will be decided by a voting panel made up of the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals, Head Coaches & Captains of Member Associations and clubs involved at the group stage of the Interclub competitions for the 2021/22 season,” the statement added.

Full list of nominees (in alphabetical order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Men)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Olympique Lyonnais)
Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)
Sebastien Haller (Cote d’Ivoire & Ajax)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)
Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)
Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)
Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico)
Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas)
Aliou Dieng (Ahly)
Ali Maaloul (Ahly)
Percy Tau (Ahly)
Mohamed Sherif (Ahly)
Mohamed El Shenawy (Ahly)
Achraf Dari (Wydad Athletic Club)
Yahya Jabrane (Wydad Athletic Club)
Zouheir El Moutaraji (Wydad Athletic Club)

Young Player of the Year (Men)
Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso & Lorient)
Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)
Kamaldeen Sulemana (Ghana & Rennes)
Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Metz)
Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Coach of the Year (Men)
Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)
Pitso Mosimane (Al Ahly)
Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)
Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)
Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

National Team of the Year

Burkina Faso

Club of the Year

Petro Atletico (Angola)
Ahly (Egypt)
RS Berkane (Morocco)
Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)
Orlando Pirates (South Africa)

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: