RELIVE, 2022 CAF awards: Salah, Mane, Mendy vie for African Player of Year prize

Ahram Online , Thursday 21 Jul 2022

Ahram Online provides a live coverage of the CAF awards for 2022


22: 40:  Player of the year: Sadio Mane  (Senegal, Bayern Munich)

22:30 Women Player of the Year:  Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

22:15 Men Coach of the Year: Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

22:10  Women Coach of the Year: Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

22:05 Goal of the year: Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)

21: 45 Women Young Player of the Year:  Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

21: 32 Men Interclub Player of the Year:  Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

21:30 Women Interclub Player of the Year  Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

21: 25 Men Club of the Year: Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

21:20 Women Club of the Year : Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

21:15 The ceremony is underway 

Egypt's Mohamed Salah, Senegal's Sadio Mane and Edouard Mendy vie for Africa's best player award in a ceremony that takes place in in Rabat, Morocco.

The ceremony starts at 21:30 Cairo time (19:30 GMT). Stay tuned for updates on the continent's top prizes.

2021 African Cup of Nations runners-up Egypt is also competing for National Team of the Year award alongside Cameroon and Senegal

Cairo giants Ahly came also in the final list for the club of the year award alongside Morocco’s RS Berkane and Wydad Athletic Club of Morocco.

The shortlist of nominees for CAF Awards 2022:

Player of the Year (Women)

Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano)
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)
Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt)

Player of the Year (Men)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)
Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Young Player of the Year (Women)

Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies)
Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)
Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)
Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

Coach of the Year (Women)

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)
Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)
Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year (Women)

AS FAR (Morocco)
Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana)
Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Men)

Ahly (Egypt)
RS Berkane (Morocco)
Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National Team of the Year (Men)


National Team of the Year (Women)

Due to the absence of a major women’s competition during the period under review, the Organising Team for the CAF Awards 2022 has reviewed the selection process for this important category. The TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco will be factored as one of the criterion in deciding a winner befitting of the status of the award and women’s football in general. The winner will be announced on 23 July 2022 during the final match of the Women’s AFCON.

Goal of the Year

Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates)
Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)
Zouhair El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: