Ivory Coast's Drogba, Cameroon's Eto'o set for Golden Foot award

Mahmoud Elassal, Monday 22 Apr 2013

Didier Drogba and Samuel Eto’o are the only African candidates in the list for 2013 Golden Foot award

Drogba and Eto
Ivory Coast's striker Didier Drogba and Cameroon's striker Samuel Eto'o

Ivory Coast and Galatasaray striker Didier Drogba has been included in the list of nominees for the 2013 Golden Foot award alongside Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o to succeed Zlatan Ibrahimovic, who won it last year.

The Golden Foot award is given to players who stand out for their athletic achievements and for their personality، as well as active players of at least 29 years of age and cannot be won more than once.

The African stars Drogba and Eto'o are among nine players' list including Frenchman David Trezeguet, German Miroslav Klose, Italy international Andrea Pirlo, Spaniards Andres Iniesta and Iker Casillas, and English footballers Franck Lampard and David Beckham.

The Golden Foot winners:

2003 - Roberto Baggio (Italy, Brescia)

2004 - Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic, Juventus)

2005 - Andryi Shevchenko (Ukraine, AC Milan)

2006 - Ronaldo (Brazil, Real Madrid)

2007 - Alessandro Del Piero (Italy, Juventus)

2008 - Roberto Carlos da Silva (Brazil, Fenerbahçe)

2009 - Ronaldinho (Brazil, AC Milan)

2010 - Francesco Totti (Italy, Roma)

2011 - Ryan Giggs (Wales, Manchester United)

2012 - Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris SG)

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports)

Short link: