Nigeria hosts CAF 2013 awards ceremony

Ahmed Abd El Rasoul , Wednesday 7 Aug 2013

Nigeria hosts Confederation of African Football awards Gala event for third time


Nigeria will be hosting the ceremony of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) 2013 awards next January, the African football governing body announced on Wednesday.

"The Gala event will be held in Lagos, Nigeria on the 9th of January 2014," CAF official website revealed.

This will be the third time to see the prestigious event hosted by Nigeria as it was held there twice before in Abuja (2005) and Lagos (2008).

Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure is the current African player of the year, while Egypt and Ahly star Mohamed Abou-Treika is the best African-based player.

CAF is set to reveal the list of nominees for its awards at a later time this year.

The ceremony in Nigeria will witness the announcement of the winners of the following awards:

1- African Player of the Year

2- African Player of the Year - Based in Africa

3- National Team of the Year

4- Women’s National Team of the Year

5- Club of the Year

6- CAF Fair Play Award

7- Coach of the Year

8- Most Promising talent

9- Women’s Footballer of the Year

10- Referee of the Year

11- CAF Legend

12- Africa Fines XI

13- CAF Platinum Award

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports)

Short link: