CAF unveils final rankings, details of Glo-CAF awards

Ahram Online, Friday 10 Jan 2014


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has unveiled on Friday the details for the votes for the African player of the year and the African player of the year (based in Africa).

Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure has won the most prestigious award for the third straight time and Egypt retired icon Mohamed Abou-Treika has dominated the locals’ poll.

According to the CAF the winners were decided by votes from the head coaches or the technical directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

The details of the votes were made available on the CAF official website.


African player of the year

1-Yaya Toure,  373 pts
2- John Obi Mikel , 265pts
3- Didier Drogba, 236 pts
4- Jonathan Pitroipa, 202 pts
5- Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, 202 pts
6- Vincent Enyeama, 199 pts
7- Emanuel Emenike, 191 pts
8- Asamoah Gyan, 187 pts
9- Ahmed Musa, 181 pts
10- Mohamad Abou-Treika, 149 pts


African player of the year (based in Africa)

1-Mohamad Abou-Treika, 161 pts
2-Sunday Mba, 101 pts
3-Ahmad Fathi, 98 pts
4-Rainford Kalaba, 90 pts
5-Tresor Mputo, 84 pts

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)



Search Keywords:
Short link: