RELIVE: EURO 2016 draw

Ahram Online , Saturday 12 Dec 2015

Ahram Online provided a live coverage of the Euro 2016 draw on Saturday in Paris

UEFA Euro 2016
The logo for the UEFA Euro 2016 championships is seen at the Palais des Congres in Paris on December 12, 2015, ahead of the draw for the Euro 2016 finals (AFP)

Thank you for following our live updates 

Group A: France, Romania, Albania, Switzerland

Group B: England, Russia, Wales, Slovakia

Group C: Germany, Ukraine, Poland, Northern Ireland

Group D: Spain, Czech Republic, Turkey, Croatia

Group E: Belgium, Italy, Ireland, Sweden

Group F: Portugal, Iceland, Austria, Hungary   

19:00 The draw is underway. 

Among those who will attend the draw are some former EURO winners including Ruud Gullit (Netherlands, 1988) and Bixente Lizarazu (France, 2000). Oliver Bierhoff (Germany, 1996), Angelos Charisteas (Greece, 2004), Antonín Panenka (Czechoslovakia, 1976), David Trezeguet (France, 2000) and Vicente del Bosque (Spain coach, 2012) 

17:30 The draw procedures as posted on the official website of UEFA:

The teams will be drawn into six groups of four teams each (Groups A to F). The draw starts with Pot 1. One ball is drawn and the team is assigned to Group B, position B1; a second ball is drawn and the team is assigned to Group C, position C1; and so on till Group F.

The draw continues with Pot 4. A ball is drawn and the team assigned to Group A. The position of this team within Group A is also determined by draw. A second ball is drawn from Pot 4 and assigned to Group B; again the position within Group B is drawn. The procedure is repeated for all teams in Pot 4.

The draw continues with Pot 3 and concludes with Pot 2. Each time a team is drawn the position within the relevant group is determined by draw. The top two in each plus the four best third-placed sides advance to the knockout phase.

17:00 Euro 2016 draw takes place in Paris as the home nations will find out who they will meet at next summer's tournament in France.

16:15 The tournament is to take place between Friday 10 June and Sunday 10 July

16:00 The 24 nations divided into four pots:

Pot One: Spain, Germany, England, Portugal, Belgium
Pot Two: Italy, Russia, Switzerland, Austria, Croatia, Ukraine
Pot Three: Czech Republic, Sweden, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Hungary
Pot Four: Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Iceland, Wales, Albania, Northern Ireland

15:30 The Euro 2016 draw will be the first in the tournament's new 24-team format

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: