FACTBOX: Club World Cup

Reuters , Wednesday 7 Dec 2016

Factbox on the Club World Cup, which kicks off in Japan on Thursday:

FC Barcelona
FC Barcelona celebrate winning the FIFA Club World Cup Final with the trophy in Yokohama on Sunday, December 20, 2015. (Reuters)

Real Madrid (Spain) - UEFA Champions League winners
Atletico Nacional (Colombia) - Copa Libertadores winners
Club America (Mexico) - CONCACAF Champions League winners
Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) - African Champions League winners
Jeonbuk Motors (South Korea) - Asian Champions League winners
Kashima Antlers (Japan) - Japanese champions (hosts)
Auckland City (New Zealand) - Oceania Champions League winners


The Club World Cup replaced the Intercontinental Cup as FIFA's premier international club competition in 2005. The Intercontinental Cup, which pitched the champions of South America against the champions of Europe, ran from 1960 to 2004.

Barcelona won a record third title when they beat Argentina's River Plate 3-0 in last year's final in Yokohama with a goal from Lionel Messi and two from Luis Suarez.

All the winners have come from Europe or Brazil. Africa has had two finalists in TP Mazembe of the Democratic Republic of Congo (2010) and Raja Casablanca (2013).

The other three confederations have never produced a finalist.

 New Zealand's Auckland City have represented Oceania in the Club World Cup eight times with a third place finish in 2014 their best result.

Yokohama's 72,000-seater International Stadium, venue of the 2002 World Cup final, will be hosting the Club World Cup final for the eighth time. 


2000:                           Corinthians (Brazil) 4-3 Vasco da Gama (Brazil) (pen)
Rio de Janeiro 2005: Sao Paulo (Brazil) 1-0 Liverpool (England)
Yokohama 2006:        Internacional (Brazil) 1-0 Barcelona (Spain)
Yokohama 2007         AC Milan (Italy) 4-2 Boca Juniors (Argentina)
Yokohama 2008:        Manchester Utd (England) 1-0 LDU Quito (Ecuador)
Yokohama 2009:        Barcelona 2-1 Estudiantes (Argentina)
Abu Dhabi 2010:        Inter Milan (Italy) 3-0 TP Mazembe (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Abu Dhabi 2011:        Barcelona 4-0 Santos (Brazil)
Yokohama 2012:        Corinthians 1-0 Chelsea (England)
Yokohama 2013:        Bayern Munich (Germany) 2-0 Raja Casablanca (Morocco)
Marrakesh 2014:        Real Madrid (Spain) 2-0 San Lorenzo (Argentina)
Marrakesh 2015:         Barcelona (Spain) 3-0 River Plate (Argentina) - Yokohama

Short link: