Last Update 14:14
Sunday, 13 June 2021

Video: Brazil’s Neymar wins FIFA Puskas Award

After severe competition with Lionel Messi and Wayne Rooney, Brazilian forward Neymar clinches the best goal of the year award

Ahmed Abd El Rasoul , Monday 9 Jan 2012

Brazil and Santos striker Neymar won the FIFA Puskas Award for the best goal in 2011 beating the other two heavyweights candidates Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney.

The 19-year old hitman dominated the votes of the users of FIFA’s official website and got the prize for his marvelous goal in his team’s 5-4 loss to Flamengo in the Brazilian league last July.

Brazil's Dani Alves, Argentina's Lionel Messi, Brazil's soccer legend Pele and Brazil's Neymar, from left, stand together after Messi was awarded the prize for the soccer player of the year 2011 at the FIFA Ballon d'Or awarding ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland, Monday. (Photo: AP)

  (For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online sports on Twitter: @AO_Sports)

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.