Football world record transfer deals since 1893

Reuters, Monday 2 Sep 2013

World record transfer deals from Willie Groves' move to Aston Villa for 100 pounds in 1893 to Gareth Bale's record-breaking transfer to Real Madrid for 100 million euros in 2013

Following Gareth Bales' world record transfer from Tottenham Hotspur to Real Madrid for 100 million euros ($131.86 million), these are the major world record transfer deals based on pounds sterling since Willie Groves of Scotland became the first 100 pound player when he moved from West Bromwich Albion to Aston Villa in 1893:

(currency in pounds sterling)

1893: Willie Groves (Scotland) from West Brom to Aston Villa for 100

1905: Alf Common (England) from Sunderland to Middlesbrough for 1,000

1922: Syd Puddefoot (England) from West Ham to Falkirk for 5,000

1922: Warney Cresswell (England) from South Sheilds to Sunderland for 5,500

1925: Bob Kelly (England) from Burnley to Sunderland for 6,500

1928: David Jack (England) from Bolton to Arsenal for 10,890

1932: B. Ferreyra (Argentina) from Tigre to River Plate for 23,000

1949: Johnny Morris (England) from Man Utd to Derby County for 24,000

1949: Eddie Quigley (England) from Sheff W to Preston for 26,500

1950: Trevor Ford (Wales) from Aston Villa to Sunderland for 30,000

1951: Jackie Sewell (England) from Notts County to Sheffield W for 34,500

1952: Hans Jeppson (Sweden) from Atalanta to Napoli for 52,000

1954: Juan Schiaffino (Uruguay) from Penarol to AC Milan for 72,000

1957: Omar Sivori (Argentina) from River Plate to Juventus for 93,000

1961: Luis Suarez (Spain) from Barcelona to Inter Milan for 152,000

1963: Angelo Sormoni (Brazil) from Mantova to AS Roma for 250,000

1967: Harald Nielsen (Denmark) from Bologna to Inter Milan for 300,000

1968: Pietro Anastasi (Italy) from Varese to Juventus for 500,000

1973: Johan Cruyff (Netherlands) from Ajax to Barcelona for 922,000

1975: Giuseppe Savoldi (Italy) from Bologna to Napoli for 1.2m

1976: Paolo Rossi (Italy) from Vicenza to Juventus for 1.75m

1982: Diego Maradona (Argentina) from Boca Juniors to Barcelona for 3.0m

1984: Diego Maradona (Argentina) from Barcelona to Napoli for 5.0m

1987: Ruud Gullit (Netherlands) from PSV Eindhoven to AC Milan for 6.0m

1990: Roberto Baggio (Italy) from Fiorentina to Juventus for 8.0m

1992: Jean-Pierre Papin (France) from Marseille to AC Milan for 10.0m

1992: Gianluca Vialli (Italy) from Sampdoria to Juventus for 12.0m

1993: Gianluigi Lentini (Italy) from Torino to AC Milan for 13.0m

1996: Alan Shearer (England) from Blackburn to Newcastle for 15.0m

1997: Ronaldo (Brazil) from Barcelona to Inter Milan for 19.5m

1998: Denilson (Brazil) from Sao Paulo to Real Betis for 21.5m

1999: Christian Vieri (Italy) from Lazio to Inter Milan for 32.0m

2000: Hernan Crespo (Argentina) from Parma to Lazio for 35.5m

2000: Luis Figo (Portugal) from Barcelona to Real Madrid for 37.0m

2001: Zinedine Zidane (France) from Juventus to Real Madrid for 53.0m

2009: Kaka (Brazil) from AC Milan to Real Madrid for 56.0m

2009: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) from Man Utd to Real Madrid for 80.0m

2013: Gareth Bale (Wales) from Tottenham to Real Madrid for 85.3m

($1 = 0.7584 euros)

($1 = 0.6465 British pounds)

Search Keywords:
Short link: