FA charge France's Anelka over quenelle salute

Reuters, Tuesday 21 Jan 2014

West Bromwich Albion
West Bromwich Albion's Nicolas Anelka (Photo: Reuters)

The English Football Association charged Nicolas Anelka on Tuesday for making a "quenelle" salute after scoring for West Bromwich Albion against West Ham United in the Premier League last month.

The salute is widely regarded as being anti-Semetic and the FA have charged the former France international under Rule 3 for 'making an abusive and/or indecent and/or insulting and/or improper gesture.'

In a statement on their website (www.thefa.com), the FA added: "It is further alleged that this is an aggravated breach, as defined in FA Rule E3, in that it included a reference to ethnic origin and/or race and/or religion or belief."

Anelka, who has denied he used it in any derogatory way, has until 1800 GMT on Thursday to respond to the charge.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: