Squash: Hosts Egypt announce squad for World Championships

Ahram Online , Wednesday 25 Nov 2015

The official website of the Professional Squash Association announce full squads for the 2015 Men's World Team Squash Championships set to begin in December

Mohamed Elshorbagy
Egypt's Squash player Mohamed Elshorbagy (File Photo: Squash site)

Egypt will be represented by Mohamed Elshorbagy, Ramy Ashour, Omar Mosaad and Tarek Momen in the 2015 Men's World Team Squash Championships.

Egypt will host the World Championships that will take place between 12 and 19 December, instead of Kuwait.

Kuwait was suspended from hosting the international event by the International Olympic Committee due to government interference in the local games committee.

Egypt hosted the tournament twice before in 1985 and 1999.

Egypt's team will include world number one Mohamed Elshorbagy, world number four Ramy Ashour, world number six Omar Mosaad and world number eight Tarek Momen, according to the official website of the Professional Squash Association.

Reigning champions England have selected a strong line-up headed by three-time World Champion Nick Matthew as well as Daryl Selby, Chris Simpson and James Willstrop.

France, who are also heavyweights in sport, called up newly-crowned World Champion Gregory Gaultier, Gregoire Marche, Lucas Serme and World No.8 Mathieu Castagnet into their ranks.

The tournament, held once every two years and organised by the World Squash Federation, will be participated by 25 teams from five confederations: Africa, America, Asia, Europe and Oceania.

Team line-ups:

Argentina: Robertino Pezzota, Leandro Romiglio, Rodrigo Pezzota, Gonzalo Miranda

Australia: Ryan Cuskelly, Cameron Pilley, Rex Hedrick, Steven Finitsis

Austria: Aqeel Rehman, Jakob Dirnberger, Florian Mader, Daniel Haider

Canada: Shawn Delierre, Nicholas Sachvie, Michael McCue, Albert Shoihet

Colombia: Miguel Angel Rodriguez, Andrés Herrera, Erick Herrera, Edgar Ramirez

Egypt: Mohamed Elshorbagy, Ramy Ashour, Omar Mosaad, Tarek Momen

England: Nick Matthew, Daryl Selby, Chris Simpson, James Willstrop

Finland: Olli Tuominen, Henrik Mustonen, Jaakko Vahamaa, Miko Äijänen

France: Gregory Gaultier, Mathieu Castanet, Gregoire Marche, Lucas Serme

Germany: Simon Rösner, Raphael Kandra, Jens Schoor, Rudi Rohrmuller

China: Max Lee, Leo Au, Tsz Fung Yip, Chi Him Wong

India: Saurav Ghosal, Mahesh Mangaonkar, Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu, Kush Kumar

Iraq: Rassol Alsultani, Mohammed Hasan, Husham Abdulkareem Sabeh, Faisal Assim

Malysia: Nafiizwan Adnan, Ivan Yuen, Sanjay Singh Chal, Mohd Syafiq Kamal

Mexico: Cesar Salazar, Arturo Salazar, Eric Galvez, Alfredo Avila

New Zealand: Paul Coll, Campbell Grayson, Martin Knight, Evan Williams

Pakistan: Nasir Iqbal, Farhan Zaman, Danish Atlas Khan, Tayyab Aslam

Qatar: Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi, Syed Azlan Amjad, Abdulrahman Al-Malki, Abdulwahab Al-Ishaq

Republic of Korea: JaeJin Yoo, Ko Young, Jong Myoung Park, Han Dong Ryu

Scotland: Alan Clyne, Greg Lobban, Douglas Kempsell, Kevin Moran

South Africa: Stephen Copping, Shaun le Roux, Clinton Leeuw, Thoboki Mohohlo

Switzerland: Nicolas Müller, Heiko Peter, Benjamin Fischer, Patrick Mischer

USA: Christopher Gordon, Todd Harrity, Chris Hanson, Faraz Khan

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)


Short link: