Last Update 16:49
Wednesday, 14 April 2021

Squash: Egypt beat England to remain women’s world team champions

Ahmed Abd El Rasoul, Sunday 16 Sep 2018
Egypt squash team crowned champions of the Women’s World Team Championship (Photo: the tournament's official website)
Views: 2163
Views: 2163

Defending champions Egypt defeated second-seeded England 2-0 late on Saturday to remain the Women’s World Team squash champions.

In a repeat of last edition’s final in Paris, the Egyptian team was again too strong for the English team in this edition’s final in the Chinese city of Dalian to clinch their fourth title since 2008.

Egypt has reached the tournament's final four times before, facing England in all of them, with the English team winning in 2006 before losing to the Pharaohs in 2008, 2012 and 2016.

Egypt booked a place in this year's final after overcoming fifth-seeded Hong Kong, while the English team passed sixth-seeded opponents France.

At the World Championship in China, Egypt was represented by a four-player squad all ranked in the world’s top six, including world No.1 Nour el-Sherbini, a two-time world individual champion, world No.2 Raneem el-Welily, No.3 Nour el-Tayeb and No.6 Nouran Gohar.

Former world No.1 Laura Massaro, now ranked seven in the world, led the English team alongside world No.8 Sarah-Jane Perry, world No.10 Alison Waters, and No.13 Victoria Lust.

In Saturday's final, it took Nouran Gohar 55 minutes to beat Alison Waters 3-2, while Raneem El Welily defeated Laura Massaro 3-1 in 36 minutes.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)


Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.