Egypt to reopen 5 museums, 8 archaeological sites in July

Nevine El-Aref , Thursday 25 Jun 2020

Egyptian Museum in Tahrir (Al-Ahram)
Egyptian Museum in Tahrir (Al-Ahram)

As an initial step to gradually reopen all sites and museums and as Egypt is preparing to receive inbound tourism, five museums and eight archaeological sites are to reopen in July.

Mostafa Waziri, secretary-general of the Supreme Council of Antiquities, said the five museums are the Egyptian Museum in Tahrir, the Museum of Islamic Art, the Coptic, Nubia and Luxor museums.

The eight archaeological sites are the Temples of Abu Simbel and Philae in Aswan, Karnak, Al-Deir Al-Bahari temples and the Valley of the Kings Necropolis in Luxor, in addition to the Giza Pyramids and Salaheddin Citadel in Cairo.  

Search Keywords:
Short link: