The new reception hall at the Edfu Temple in Aswan. Photo courtesy of Ministry of Tourism,
The improvement to the hall included the installation of an additional electronic ticketing device – bringing the total number to three – and ten electronic gates, according to Khaled Sherif, assistant to the tourism minister for digitization.
The hall will be expanded to accommodate the increasing number of visitors during the winter season, he added.
Edfu Temple stands as one of the most remarkable and well-preserved ancient Egyptian temples dedicated to the veneration of the god Horus. Its construction began in 237 BC during the reign of King Ptolemy III and concluded 180 years later under the rule of King Ptolemy XII in 57 BC.
The temple remained buried for a millennia, which helped preserve its architectural and decorative elements. In 1860, the French archaeologist Auguste Mariette unearthed the temple and undertook restoration efforts on certain sections.
The temple is fronted by two massive pylons that bear scenes of King Ptolemy XII conquering his enemies and worshiping deities. Two large granite statues of the falcon-god Horus stand before the pylons. Beyond the pylons is a large Peristyle court lined with columns decorated with floral capitals.
Beyond this court are two halls supported by pillars, the first illustrates the temple’s foundation with the king engaged in worship. The second holds scenes of Horus’ journey in a sacred bark accompanied by the goddess Hathor. The second is followed by a transverse hall and then the sanctuary of the temple.