Ramadan Book Fair cultural events - timetable

Ahram Online, Tuesday 2 Aug 2011

Timetable for the cultural events taking place alongside the Ramadan Book Fair in Faysal Street

Friday 5 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Opening ceremony

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Nile Band

Saturdy 6 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Revolution Youth Coalition talk, featuring guests from 6 April Youth Movement, ElBaradei Campaign, Muslim Brotherhood youth

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Egyptian band with music and singing

Sunday 7 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Poets Evening, featuring renown Egyptian poets including Abdel-Moety Hegazy, Bahaa Gajeen and others

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Banadra Band for Arabic takht music

Monday 8 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Egyptian novels evening, featuring authors including Amina Zeidan, Gamal Zaki Makar and Hamdi Abdel-Gelil

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Hala Band (street stage)

Tuesday 9 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Discussion about trade unions and legal statutes

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: “Korsi” theatre performance, followed by singing by artist Sherine

Wednesday 10 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Cultural views in political parties platform, featuring representatives from the Freedom and Justice party of the Muslim Brotherhood, the Egyptian Socialist Party, the Democratic Front party

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Monufia band with Arabic music

Thursday 11 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Second poets night, featuring Farouk Shousha and others

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Azza Balbaa and an evening of singing for love of the nation

Friday 12 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Discussion about the stage and the street

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Marionette puppet show

Saturday 13 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Discussion about Al-Azhar manifesto, featuring representatives from various religious groups

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Baraweez band with Nubian Music

Sunday 14 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Egyptian media evening, featuring presenters of famous TV shows such as Yousry Fouday, Farida Shoubashy and Safwat El-Alem

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Singing

Monday 15 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Poets evening, including guest Amgad Said from Iraq

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Sawaki band

Tuesday 16 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Egyptian Cinema and its crisis, featuring famous director Ali Badrakhan and others

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Tannura dance band

Wednesday 17 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Intellectuals and the public, featuring politicians and thinkers including Amr Hamzawy, Ammar Ali Hassan and Hala Moustafa

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Poetry reading

Thursday 18 August

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Caricature in the square, featuring famous cartoonists including Amr Selim and Ahmed Anwar among others

11:30 pm – 1:00 am:  Ramy Essam, "singer of the square"

Friday 19 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Poets night

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Evening with an Egyptian clown

Saturday 20 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Social networking and the revolution

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Singer Ali El-Helbawy

Sunday 21 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Journalism after January 25 Revolution, featuring famous journalists and editors such as Ibrahim Eissa, Khaled El-Balshy and Wael Kandil among others

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Alexandrian singer Ibrahim

Monday 22 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Sitcom phenomenon, featuring actors from famous sitcoms

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Shakawy Choir

Tuesday 23 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Poets evening, featuring renown poet Sayed Hegab among others

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Evening with singer Ahmed Ali El-Haggar

Wednesday 24 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: Towards an Egyptian Cultural Constitution

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Religious singing by the central band of the Cultural Palaces

Thursday 25 August 

9:30 – 11:00 pm: The future of the book – between publishing and distribution, featuring publishers including Fatma El-Boudy from Al-Ain, Saad Abdel-Rahman from the Cultural Palaces and others

11:30 pm – 1:00 am: Eskenderella band

 

Search Keywords:
Short link: