Gaber Asfour, Ahmed Nawwar, Moufid Shehab and Palestinin Rasem Badran win Egypt's Nile Award

Mohammed Saad , Sunday 23 Jun 2019

Moufid Shehab, Ahmed Nawwar, Gaber Asfour and Rasem Badran winners of the Nile Award
Moufid Shehab, Ahmed Nawwar, Gaber Asfour and Rasem Badran winners of the Nile Award

Egypt's highest state awards in art, literature and social sciences for 2018 was announced on Sunday.

Members of the Supreme Council for Culture (SCC) voted on Sunday to pick the winner from a list of nominees.

The SCC's 64 members are split into two group, half of them are celebrated writers, artists and thinkers and the other half are heads of the country's highest cultural and educational institutions.

The members voted on 53 prizes worth EGP 7.5 million total (around $450,000), divided into four sections:

Here is a full list of winners:

The Nile Award

The Nile Award is the highest honour and is granted to three people in the fields of literature, arts and social sciences. Each winner gets EGP 500,000 and a gold medal. A new award for the most creative Arab personality was added last year for the first time.

The Nile Award in Literature was given to critic and former Minister of Culture Gaber Asfour.

The Nile Award in Arts was handed to painter Ahmed Nawwar.

The Nile Award in Social Sciences was granted to political science professor and former minister of higher education Moufid Shehab.

The Nile Award for the Most Creative Arab personality was awarded to Palestinian architect Rasem Badran.

The Nile Award for a creative Arab personality was launched last year in a bid to strengthen ties between Egypt and Arab creative minds.

Appreciation Awards

The award includes EGP 200,000 and a gold medal.

The Appreciation Award in Arts went to Abdel-Halim Ibrahim, Gahmy El-Khouly and Hashim El-Nahaas.

The Appreciation Award in Literature was awarded to writers Mohamed Abdel-Moteleb, Abul-Ela El-Salamony and Mohamed Mohamed El-Shahawy.

The Appreciation Awards in Social Sciences was awarded to Said tawfik, Samiha El-Qaliouby, and Mohamed Ghoneem. The fourth award was withheld.

Excellency Awards

The award is given to seven people and includes EGP 100,000 plus a silver medal.

The Excellency Award in Literature was granted to Ahmed Fadl Shabloul and poet Fou'ad Taman.

The Excellency Award in Arts was handed to Ibrahim El-Desouky Fahmy and Ibatissam Farid.

The Excellency Award in Social Sciences was handed to Gamal Shakra, Howaida Sayyied Ali and Atef Mansour

Fact Box:

52 prizes worth a total of EGP 7 million (around $1 million), divided into four sections:

32 Encouragement Awards worth EGP 50,000

7 Excellency Awards worth EGP 100,000 and a silver medal

10 Appreciation Awards worth EGP 200,000 and a gold medal

4 Nile Awards worth EGP 500,000 and a gold medal

The 32 Encouragement Awards are divided as follows: eight for the arts, eight for literature, eight in social sciences and eight for law and economic research.

Of the seven Excellency Awards, two are for the arts, two for literature and three for social sciences. Political analyst Ammar Ali Hassan and economy expert Ahmed El-Naggar were among the winners of the prize last year.

The vote also includes 10 Appreciation Awards: three for the arts, three for literature and four for social sciences. This award was granted for the first time in 1999. Novelists Khairy Shalaby and Gamal El-Ghitani, poet Mohammed Afifi Mattar and critic Gaber Asfour are among past winners.

Finally, the three Nile Awards are divided as follows: one for the arts, one for literature and one for social sciences. The Nile Award was originally named the Mubarak Award but was changed in the aftermath of 25 January 2011 revolution that ousted president Hosni Mubarak from power.

Poet Abdel-Rahman El-Abnoudi, writers Bahaa Taher, Ibrahim Aslan and Waheed Hamed, and cinema director Youssef Chahine are the most prominent figures to date who have won the Nile Award.

The State Awards were launched in 1958 and have only been cancelled once, in 1967, during the Six-Day War between Egypt and Israel.

Short link: