Brotherhood's FJP wins 10 out of 10 seats in Sharqiya
Ahram Online, Friday 23 Dec 2011
Freedom and Justice Party crushes independent, Salafist rivals in runnoff races in Nile Delta's populous Sharqiya governorate

President of Zagazig’s Court of First Instance Mohamed Amer on Friday morning declared a landslide victory for the Muslim Brotherhood’sFreedom and Justice Party(FJP) in runoff elections in the Nile Delta’s Sharqiya Governorate, where the party won all ten of the parliamentary seats reserved for individual candidacies that had been up for grabs.

Sharqiya’s first, second, third, fourth and fifth electoral districts all saw sweeping victories by FJP candidates against independent and Salafist rivals. Winning FJP candidates included El-Said Negeda; Saleh Ali; Amir Bassam; Mohamed Abd El-Raouf; Mohamed Fayad; Ibrahim Selim; Mohamed Awad Shawesh; Safwat Sweilam; Ahmed Shoeil; and El-Said El-Atwel.

Notably, voting results in the governorate’s second and fifth electoral districts may be overturned after Sharqiya’s Administrative Judiciary Court ruled that last week’s second-round polling in the two districts had been marred by legal and electoral violations.