List of 100 senators appointed to parliament Upper House published in official gazette
Ahram Online, Sunday 18 Oct 2020
Two-thirds of the 300-seat Senate were elected via the individual candidacy and closed party list systems, and the rest were named by the president

The list of the 100 appointed members in the Senate was published in the official gazette on Saturday.

The senators, who were recently appointed by President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi, passed their medical examinations on Thursday.

Two-thirds of the 300-seat Senate were elected via the individual candidacy and closed party list systems, and the rest were named by the president.

The 100 appointed members of the Senate are compromised of 20 women, 19 former military and police officers, 12 political party officials, six figures from professional and labour syndicates, six political youth figures, five members from the Coptic Orthodox Church, six media figures and actors, 16 public figures, two judges, and eight school and university officials.

Among the most prominent figures are actors Yehia El-Fakharany and Samira Abdel-Aziz, editor-in-chief of El-Shorouk newspaper Emad El-Din Hussein, leader of the leftist Tagammu Party El-Sayed Abdel-Aal, former leader of the Wafd Party Bahaa Abu Shokaa, Hoda Abdel-Nasser, the daughter of late president Gamal Abdel-Nasser, editor-in-chief of Al-Ahram Al-Riyadi and Press Syndicate's secretary-general Mohamed Shabana, former head of the Lawyers Syndicate Sameh Ashour, and Bishop Kamel Michel.

On 1 October, El-Sisi issued Decree 577/2020 inviting the Senate to convene on 18 October at noon.

Out of the 63 million eligible Egyptian voters, 8.95 million (14.23 percent) cast their ballots during the first round of Senate elections in August. In the run-offs there were 28.817 million eligible voters, out of whom 2,834,750 voters participated -- a turnout of 10.22 percent.

The Senate, which was created in accordance with constitutional amendments approved last year, will act as an advisory chamber to the House of Representatives. It will sit in place of the Shura Council, the upper house of parliament that was dissolved in 2014.

The first five-year term of the Senate will end in 2025.

The list of 100 appointed senators:

Soheir Adib Majla Ghattas
Hayat Mohamed Abdel-Razek Khattab
Hanan Abdel-Moneim Abul-Azm Ali
Kawthar Mahmoud Mahmoud
Hayam Farouk Fouad Benjamin
Noha Ahmed Fathy Ahmed Zaki
Noha Ashraf Mohamed Al-Sharif
Ragia Saad Abdel-Hamid Mohamed Al-Feki
Aisha Abdel-Ghani Mohamed Hashem
Khadra Salem Abdel-Hamid Salem
Samira Mohamed Abdel-Aziz
Nihal Magdy Ahmed Fahmy El-Migharbel
Nagwa Ahmed El-Shafei Omran
Nadia Mabrouk Abdel-Aziz Emara
Sama Suleiman El-Sayed Ahmed
Hoda Gamal Abdel-Nasser
Soha Said Abdel-Moneim Ibrahim
Camellia Sobhi Abdel-Nour Mohamed
Rasha Wasim Abdel-Rahman Qalaj
Randa Mohamed Ahmed Mostafa
Osama Ahmed Ahmed El-Gendy
Younes El-Masry
Osama Kamel Montasser
Mustafa Kamel Mohamed El-Sayed
Tarek Farouk Mahmoud Nasr
Haroun Abdel-Hamid Haroun Abu Sahli
Mohamed Magd El-Din Mohamed Barakat
Amr Hussein Mohamed Higab
Ahmed Salah El-Din Abu Khobar
Ayman Abdel-Mohsen Mohamed Abdel-Mohsen
Abdel-Moneim Abdel Hamid El-Sayed
Mohamed Gad Mohamed Gad
Ahmed Ali El-Badri Ibrahim
Farouk Hafez Abdel-Halim El-Megrahi
Khaled Ismail Mohamed Fawzy
Gamal Abdel-Halim Abdel-Wahab
Abul-Fotouh Mohamed Ali
Galal Mahmoud Al-Haridi
Hatem Heshmat Farag El-Desouki
Hazem Mohamed Suleiman
Omar El-Mukhtar Hussein Omar Sumaida
Mohamed Nabil Suleiman Daabs
Abdel-Aal Mostafa Abdel-Majid
Tayseer Mohamed Rizk Matar
Abdel-Hakim Ahmed Esmat "Effat Sadat"
Suleiman Suleiman Moussa El-Zamlout
Mahmoud Samir Abdel-Gleel Turky
Abdel-Aziz Mohamed Al-Nahhas
Bahaa El-Din Abu Shoka
Khaled Mohamed Abdel-Moneim Kandil
Hani Serri El-Din
Sameh Ashour
Mohamed Shabana
Tarek Saada
Mohamed Mohamed Mansour El-Sheikh
Khalaf Zanati Abu Zeid Ahmed
Khaled Abdel-Latif Mohamed Mustafa
Akmal Samy Khattab
Mohamed Magdy Farid Mohamed
Aladdin Mostafa Hassan
Ahmed Mohamed El-Said Kenawy
Amr Nabil Mohamed Abdel-Rahman
Mohamed Lotfy Taha El-Saie
Hani Hanna Gibran
Ehab Zakaria Atallah Abdel-Masih
Ayad Ragheb Khalil Basta
Kamel Michel Kamel Abdel-Masih
Gamil Halim Habib Mikhael
Mohamed Yehya El-Fakharani
Emad El-Din Hussein Ahmed
Mahmoud Sayed Mahmoud El-Kardoussi
Mahmoud Mohamed Mahmoud Mossallam
Mohamed Mustafa Mohamed Shardi
Ibrahim Al-Sayed Abu Kila
Farag Hafez Mohamed Al-Dorry
Hafez Fouad Hafez Abu Shusha
Yehya Shawki Mohamed
Ahmed Abdel-Aziz Mohamed Abdel-Aziz
Khaled Mustafa Ahmed Sayed
Mohamed Ahmed Abdel-Salam Heiba
Ramadan Suleiman Moussa Marzouka
Mohamed Mohamed Zaki Gazar
Ahmed Abdel-Moneim Emad El-Gendy
El-Saadi Abdel-Hamid Abdel-Azim
Mohamed Maher Mostafa Abu Ghaly
Sherif Farag Khoudary Mohamed El-Gabri
Ashraf Thabet Saad El-Din Jameh
Ibrahim Hegazy
Mahmoud Mohamed Salah Saad
Mahmoud Ashraf Ibrahim Abul-Nasr
Abdallah Amin Mahmoud Omar
Mohamed Omar Mostafa Abdel-Razek
Youssef El-Sayed Youssef Amer
Riad Ismail Mostafa Riad
Ahmed Abdallah Zayed
Abdel-Moneim Said
Mohamed Shawky Abdel-Aal Hafez El-Anani
Moheb Mahmoud Kamel El-Rafei
Mahmoud Salah El-Din Mohamed Al-Badri
Mostafa Mohamed Abdel-Ghani