World Cup prizes breakdown: France to receive $38 million

Ahram Online , Sunday 15 Jul 2018,
France's Hugo Lloris lifts the trophy as they celebrate winning the World Cup (Photo: REUTERS)

FIFA will hand roughly $400 million to the participants at the 2018 World Cup.

It has been increased by $42 from the 2014 edition held in Brazil.

Winners France will receive $38 million while Croatia, who reached their first ever final, will earn $28 million.

Here’s the full breakdown of the tournament’s prize money:

Winner: $38 million
Runner up: $28 million
3rd place: $24 million
4th place: $22 million
Quarterfinals: $16 million
Round of 16: $12 million
Group stage: $8 million

(For more sports news and updates and a special World Cup 2018 coverage, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports)


Short link:



  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.