Preview: Assar resumes his campaign in table tennis, swimmer Khalafalla start Tokyo 2020 campaign

The Egyptian delegation will have a calm day on Tuesday

Ahram Online , Monday 26 Jul 2021
Omar Assar
Egypt s Omar Assar reacts during the table tennis men s singles second round match against Ukraine s Kou Lei at the 2020 Summer Olympics, Monday, July 26, 2021, in Tokyo. AP

Share/Bookmark
Views: 1788

After opening their medal account with two bronze medals in a stressful Monday, the Egyptian delegation will have a calm day on Tuesday.

Table Tennis player Omar Assar will take on Mattias Falck of Sweden in the single men’s round of 32 at 04:00 Cairo time (02:00 GMT).

Assar reached this round after defeating Ukrainian player Lei Kou 4-3 on Sunday.

At the same time, judoka Mohamed Abdel-All will start his campaign in the -81 kg category with the aim to realise a better result than his teammate Mohamed Abdel-Mawgoud, who was eliminated from the round of 32 in the -66 kg category on Sunday.

In sailing, Aly Badawy and Kholoud Mansy will resume their campaigns in laser men and laser radial women races respectively.

Swimmer Ali Khalafallah will also launch his campaign in the 100 metres freestyle, along with Marwan El-Kammash in the 800 meters freestyle.

El-Kammash failed to reach the final of the men's 400 metre freestyle, finishing 14th in the overall ranking of all heats with a time of 3:46.94 on Saturday.

Khalafallah will play at 12:00 Cairo time (10:00 GMT), while El-Kammash will play at 13:40 Cairo time (11:40 GMT).

Search Keywords: