Preview: Egyptian Judoka Darwish starts Tokyo campaign, tough draw for boxer Rezk

The Egyptian boxer will face the silver medalist of the two previous world championships

Ahram Online , Wednesday 28 Jul 2021
Ramadan Darwish
Ramadan Darwish

Share/Bookmark
Views: 7122

Experienced Judoka Ramadan Darwish will start his Tokyo campaign on Thursday when he faces Shah Hussein Shah of Pakistan in the round of 32 of the -100 kg event.

Darwish, who won the bronze medal in the 2009 World Championship, is hoping to go so as far as possible in the Olympic Games, dreaming of a potential medal.

The game will start at 04:00 Cairo local time (02;00 GMT).

After securing a place in the semi-final (C/D) of the rowing single sculls men’s event, Abdel-Khalek El-Banna hopes to keep his rhythm and improve his final ranking in competition.

The Egyptian women’s foil team will have a tough mission against their Russian Olympic committee counterpart, as both sides will face off on the quarter-finals at 03:50 Cairo local time (01:50 GMT)

Shooters Abdel-Aziz Mehelba, Ahmed Zaher and Maggy Ashmawi will resume their campaign in the qualifying round of the trap event, with Mehelba producing a convincing result on Wednesday when he finished ninth with 73 points.

Zaher is ranked 22nd with 71 points, while Ashmawi is ranked 21st in the women’s event with 67 points.

The women’s event will start at 02:00 Cairo local time (00:00 GMT), while the men’s event will be played 50 minutes later.  

Boxer Yousry Rezk will have an uphill test against Kamshybek Kunkabayev of Kazakhstan in the round of 16 in the -91 men event.

The Kazakhstani boxer won the silver medal in the previous two world championships in 2017 and 2019.

In sailing, Aly Badawy and Kholoud Mansy will resume their campaigns in laser men’s and laser radial women’s races respectively.

Finally, swimmer Youssef Ramadan will launch his campaign in the 100m butterfly men’s event at 12:54 Cairo local time (10:54 GMT)

Check Team Egypt squad

Check Team Egypt schedule and results 

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Search Keywords: