Preview: Wrestlers Kesho, Metwally chase bronze medals, Abdel Rahman starts Olympics campaign

Wrestlers Mohamed 'Kesho' Ibrahim Elsayed and Mohamed Metwaly will compete for bronze medals in the 67 kg and 87Kg Greco-Roman events respectively

Ahram Online , Tuesday 3 Aug 2021
Elsayed
Egypt s Mohamed Ibrahim Elsayed, top, and South Korea s Hansu Ryu compete during the men s 67kg Greco-Roman wrestling match at the 2020 Summer Olympics, Tuesday, Aug. 3, 2021 in Chiba, Japan. AP

Share/Bookmark
Views: 1641

Wednesday will be a suspenseful day for the Egyptian delegation as Wrestlers Mohamed 'Kesho' Ibrahim Elsayed and Mohamed Metwally will compete for bronze medals in the 67 kg and 87 Kg Greco-Roman events respectively.

Kesho started his mission on Tuesday before losing narrowly 6-7 to Parviz Nasibov of Ukraine in the semi-final. He will play for a bronze medal at 12:40 Cairo time (10:40 GMT).

Metwally, who lost also 9-2 in the semi-finals of the 87 event against Hungary's Viktor Lorincz, will play for a bronze medal at 13:00 Cairo local time (11:00 GMT).

Back to life, Athlete Ihab Abdel-Rahman, silver medalist in Javelin throw at The World Championship 2015 will start his mission at the Olympics at 02:05 Cairo time (00:05 GMT).

Abdel-Rahman served a four year-ban after failing a doping test in 2016.

In Canoe, Moemen Mahran will play the Kayak Men's single 200m heats at 02:37 Cairo time (00:37 GMT)

In the Women event Sama Ahmed will start her mission in Kayak Women's single 500m at 04:01 Cairo time (02:01 GMT)

Diver Maha Abdel-Salam Gouda will perform in the 10m platform Women preliminary round at 08:00 Cairo time (06:00 GMT)

In the equestrian event, duo Mouda Zeyada and Nayel Nassar will contest the final of the Jumping Individual Men event at 12:00 Cairo time (10:00 GMT).

 

Check Team Egypt squad

Check Team Egypt schedule and results 

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Search Keywords: